Hey everyone, Looking for a bit of guidance. If t...
# ask-community
e
Hey everyone, Looking for a bit of guidance. If this is not the best place, please redirect me to the correct channel (or any other media/app) 🙂 I've inherited a number of Dagster Repositories (I will migrate them to Definitions whenever possible). Right now their deployment is one "main" server and several other servers connected via gRPC. They all share the same local storage and database (for run information storage, etc..). As I'm new to Dagster, I'm wondering if this is the best approach. The current UI is extremely slow, sometimes unresponsive when loading runs, for example. I'm thinking about proposing a migration to a different deployment system. One Dagit Instance per repository, each one with its own local storage and DB. Each Definitions would be deployed in a Docker container. I'm also wondering what's the best way of deleting old runs. Right now there is a job that uses the DagsterInstance object to load and delete runs older than a certain age. Is this the best approach? Finally, I'm all hears (or eyes, in this case 😅) for tips on how to manage and scale Dagster. Any source of information/documentation on this would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
a
As I’m new to Dagster, I’m wondering if this is the best approach. The current UI is extremely slow, sometimes unresponsive when loading runs, for example.
That set-up should be fine, but it depends on the resources available to the processes in question. What version of dagster is running? How much cpu/mem does the dagit server have? How much cpu/mem does the database have? If this is an older instance, running
dagster instance migrate
/
dagster instance reindex
may improve database performance.
thinking about proposing a migration to a different deployment system. One Dagit Instance per repository, each one with its own local storage and DB