I'm looking for advice on how best to structure my...
# ask-community
c
I'm looking for advice on how best to structure my project. Notionally, the questoin is how to do "fan-out" operations using (preferably dynamically) partitioned assets, but I might be overlooking another approach. For context, I'm new to dagster. The situation: I have sets of data files. Each set has multiple image data files, and a single calibration data file. I want to be able to build a pipeline to apply the calibration to each uncalibrated image file to create corresponding calibrated image files. There are per-image tasks downstream as well, but I don't think those are relevant to this question. Both the calibration data and each image file need (somewhat time consuming) preprocessing before the calibration is applied to the images. The way I'd think to structure this would be a preprocessed_calibration asset partitioned by set, and a calibrated_image asset partitioned by image file id, with a mapping between the set name and the image file ids (one set goes to many image file ids). As I understand it, this way each set's calibration data would be processed exactly once, and then applied to all of the image assets in the set. Now, the practical problem. We want to be able to add data sets over time. Moreover, we want to be able to use this code in multiple locations (different laptops and a cloud deployment), each of which will have their own datasets. The first thought is to use
DynamicPartitions