Hi everyone! I’m very new to Dagster, but I’m real...
# ask-community
i
Hi everyone! I’m very new to Dagster, but I’m really loving its high-level concepts and fundamental building blocks. I’m also a big proponent of easily testing and validating changes without impacting production, and that’s something Dagster is really getting right. I’m one of the creators of SQLMesh - the open-source dataops / data transformation platform. We’ve integrated SQLMesh with Airflow and are now looking into integration with Dagster too. The integration itself should be quite similar to how Dagster integrates with dbt. SQLMesh, however, is quite different from dbt due to its stateful nature. Therefore, I have a few questions for which I couldn’t find answers easily in documentation: 1. Can assets be created dynamically based on some state outside Dagster, or can they only be defined statically as Python code? 2. Is there any kind of persistent state available that can shared between and can be accessed by any asset / op / job? Like eg. XComs or Variables in Airflow. My current assumption is that I can achieve the desired behavior by creating a custom I/O manager through which the state can be accessed and updated, but was wondering whether there is anything built-in available. What if my asset / op updates this state as a side effect? Should it be a multi-asset then? 3. Is there any existing Plugin management system in place which can be used to extend the Dagster UI / GraphQL? Apologies if my questions sound ignorant or naive. I’m coming from an Airflow background, so it’s the only point of reference I have. Happy to provide more details on any of my questions. Thanks!
🌈 1
❤️ 2
s
Hi Iaroslav - I've looked at SQLMesh a little bit and it looks cool
Can assets be created dynamically based on some state outside Dagster, or can they only be defined statically as Python code?