Hi! I'm a newbie of Dagster and trying to learn ho...
# ask-community
d
Hi! I'm a newbie of Dagster and trying to learn how to use it. I'm writing a message to ask you a question concerning about Partitions and Schedules. I would like to make partitions that ended on the current date. Each of partitions must be scheduled to be executed on the next day. For example, in the case of that the start date is Jun 1 and today is Jun 8, the below scheduled partitions are required. ā€¢ Jun 1, executed at 09:00, Jun 2 ā€¢ Jun 2, executed at 09:00, Jun 3 ā€¢ ... ā€¢ Jun 8 (today), scheduled to be executed at 09:00, Jun 9 (next day) (totally eight partitions on Jun 8) What I have tried: (1)
Copy code
dagster.DailyPartitionsDefinition(
    start_date="2023-06-01",
    hour_offset=9,
    end_offset=0,
)
It was scheduled correctly but I received seven partitions that ended on Jun 7. (2)
Copy code
dagster.DailyPartitionsDefinition(
    start_date="2023-06-01",
    hour_offset=9,
    end_offset=1,
)
The eight partitions are generated but the execution schedule was on the partition key date.
d
As far as I know (someone correct me if I'm wrong), Dagster will run on a "Today - 1" basis. Meaning that if I run a job on midnight on the 8th of June, the start of that partition is the 7th and the end is the 8th. I think if you add "end_offset"=1 you will see the 8th partition but it will still run on the 9th?
d
Yes, that was what I expected. But, when I set the end_offset one, the 8th partition will run on the 8th.
image.png
šŸŒˆ 1
d
Nice! Good to know it can work this way too šŸ™‚
d
No... šŸ˜­ That wasn't what I wanted to do. The 8th partition should run on the 9th.
d
Oh then why do you want to see the 8th partition already? You can simply leave the end_offset at 0 and tomorrow it will run the partition for the 8th šŸ™‚
d
Sometimes I need to see the preliminary result šŸ˜…
d