hi! I'm brand new to Dagster and have been trying ...
# integration-snowflake
b
hi! I'm brand new to Dagster and have been trying to get some Snowflake examples to work, but it seems like most the examples in the docs don't work. Is it just me? Examples in 🧵
I tried to copy/paste the code from this example and got the following error:
Copy code
dagster._core.errors.DagsterInvalidDefinitionError: resource with key 'snowflake' required by op 'small_petals' was not provided. Please provide a <class 'dagster._core.definitions.resource_definition.ResourceDefinition'> to key 'snowflake', or change the required key to one of the following keys which points to an <class 'dagster._core.definitions.resource_definition.ResourceDefinition'>: ['io_manager']
I also tried to copy/paste this example, but the Iris dataset no longer exists and I get a 404 error
What I'm trying to figure out is: how do I query Snowflake to return a subset of a table (i.e. query with a
where
clause), then use that output in a downstream process
j
Hey @Bennie Regenold the first error
resource with key 'snowflake' required
is because a resource with key
snowflake
isn’t in your Definitions object. Can you double check that you have this part of the code snippet
Copy code
defs = Definitions(
    assets=[small_petals],
    resources={
        "snowflake": SnowflakeResource(
            account="abc1234.us-east-1",
            user=EnvVar("SNOWFLAKE_USER"),
            password=EnvVar("SNOWFLAKE_PASSWORD"),
            database="FLOWERS",
            schema="IRIS",
        )
    },
)
and how are you materializing the asset? that might be a factor here as well
thanks for notifying us of the missing iris dataset. I’ll put up a fix for that soon
b
hi Jamie, thanks for the response! I do have that as part of the code, what I'm trying is this exact code block.
to materialize this, I ran
dagit
to get a local instance running, then found the asset and clicked
Materialize
j