Hi all! I'm new to dagster and would like some gui...
# ask-community
k
Hi all! I'm new to dagster and would like some guidance! I have some pyspark based assets that need to communicate with a databricks cluster. Before these assets get materialized, I need to ensure my databricks cluster is started or else they will fail to materialize. I like the declarative framework of using assets to define dependencies. Would making
start_cluster
operation an asset and defining dependencies using
deps
in downstream pyspark based assets be the correct way to achieve this? Relevant code in 🧵
start_cluster
"asset"
Copy code
@asset(
    required_resource_keys={"databricks_config", "databricks_client"},
    description="Starts a Databricks cluster and returns its ID",
    compute_kind="databricks"
)
def start_cluster(context: AssetExecutionContext) -> list[str]:
    client = context.resources.databricks_client.workspace_client
    cluster_id = context.resources.databricks_config.cluster_id

<http://context.log.info|context.log.info>(f"Starting Cluster {cluster_id}")
    try:
        client.clusters.ensure_cluster_is_running(cluster_id)
    except Exception as e:
        context.log.error(f"Failed to start cluster {cluster_id}")
        raise e

context.add_output_metadata(metadata={"cluster_id": cluster_id, "running": True})

return [cluster_id]
example downstream asset
Copy code
@asset(deps=[start_cluster])
def pyspark_asset(context: AssetExecutionContext) -> None:
z
This feels like a bit of an abuse of the asset concept, and will require that you always materialize this asset before materializing any assets that need the cluster. I'd just put the code to start the Databricks cluster in a basic python function that gets checks if the cluster is already running and creates it if not, which just gets called at the beginning of any assets that require the Databricks cluster.
k