I'm new to dagster and would like some guidance! I...
# ask-ai
k
I'm new to dagster and would like some guidance! I have some pyspark based assets that need to communicate with a databricks cluster. Before these assets get materialized, I need to ensure my databricks cluster is started or else they will fail to materialize. I like the declarative framework of using assets to define dependencies. Would making
start_cluster
operation an asset and defining dependencies using
deps
in downstream pyspark based assets be the correct way to achieve this?
s
In Dagster, assets represent a unit of computation that produces a piece of data, and they can have dependencies on other assets, which ensures that computations are executed in the correct order. If you have a
start_cluster
operation that needs to be performed before your PySpark-based assets can be materialized, you can indeed model this operation as an asset and define dependencies using the
deps
parameter in your downstream assets. However, it's important to note that while assets can represent operations like starting a cluster, the actual implementation of starting a Databricks cluster might not fit neatly into the asset model if it involves external side effects or state changes that are not captured in the asset's outputs. Assets are typically used to represent data transformations and computations that produce data artifacts. If you still want to model the
start_cluster
operation as an asset, you would define it as an asset and then specify it as a dependency for your PySpark-based assets. Here's a simplified example based on the documentation:
Copy code