Hi all, I'm new to dagster and I'm experimenting ...
# ask-community
r
Hi all, I'm new to dagster and I'm experimenting with it for my application. I have some periodic refresh job I need to run, and I need to refresh multiple items, and need the graph to be built at runtime. I basically need to spawn multiple sub-jobs from a loop -- this way I'd like to be able to tell if a particular refresh job failed. So something like this, but it doesn't work:
Copy code
@asset
def refresh_item(item):
    ... some code

@asset
def refresh_catalogue():
    catalogue: list[MyItem] = load_catalogue()

for item in catalogue:
        refresh_item(item)
I've not been able to find any usable examples of this online -- the one I found uses
pipelines
which appears to be deprecated. How would I do this in dagster?
z
Graph assets + dynamic graphs OR partitions, depending on whether the list you're fanning out over grows and shrinks or not
r
Thanks for the links! The dynamic graph link worked like a charm 😄, I followed the example on the page but I'm not sure how I should include
graph-asset
or
graph-multi-asset
. I tried replacing
@job
with them but the job wouldn't run. This is what I ended up with:
Copy code
@op
def refresh_item(item):
    ... some code

@op(out=DynamicOut())
def span_jobs():
    catalogue = load_catalogue()

for i, specs in enumerate(catalogue):
        yield DynamicOutput(specs, mapping_key=str(i))

@job
def refresh_catalogue():
    jobs = span_jobs()
    _ = jobs.map(refresh_item)
z
If you want it to be an asset, then you can use @graph_asset, then either just materialize the asset, or make it into an asset job, which will run similarly to an op-based job
r
Sorry, what do you mean by materialize the asset?
I tried updating the code using asset definitions, does not appear to work
Copy code
@op
def refresh_item(item):
    ... some code

@op(out=DynamicOut())
def span_jobs():
    catalogue = load_catalogue()

for i, specs in enumerate(catalogue):