Hello, I am new to Dagster - very nice tool, looks...
# announcements
m
Hello, I am new to Dagster - very nice tool, looks promising so far! I am currently battling with setting up the scheduler, so I am hoping to get some feedback. What I have done: 1) run the daemon via ‘dagster-daemon run’ - logs show no error but there is a message saying ‘Non checking for any run since no schedules have been started’ ; 2) set up a pipeline with daily_schedule decorator - dagit show a green light next to my scheduled process and the ‘next tick’ is correctly populated. That said, dagit also says ‘the scheduler daemon is not running’ (in line with what the status page shows). Any idea about what is missing/misconfigured?
d
Hi Marco - It sounds like the daemon and dagit might not be using the same database to persist information about runs and schedules. Have you set up a dagster.yaml file and set a DAGSTER_HOME environment variable?
m
yes. Before when I didn’t do it the daemon was not even starting
d
got it - would you mind posting the contents of that file?
m
sure, here it is
when I launch the daemon it says ’instance is configured with the following daemons: [‘QueuedRunCoordinatorDaemon’, SchedulerDaemon’,‘SensonDaemon’]
d
Got it. So that should use a SQLite database on the local machine for your storage, but dagit and the daemon aren't looking in the same place for some reason. A couple followups: • are the daemon and dagit running on the same machine? If so, everything should work fine. • Are you confident both dagit and the daemon have access to your DAGSTER_HOME environment variable to find this file? You restarted dagit after setting it, for example?
one clue would be if dagit is outputting something to the console about not being able to find a dagster.yaml file on startup - if that's happening, that would match some of these symptoms
m
ah! yes..the problem was that the terminal were dagit was lauched form had no knowledge of DAGSTER_HOME
thanks!
working fine now
🎉 1
d