I am new to Dagster and trying to determine if it ...
# announcements
d
I am new to Dagster and trying to determine if it is a good fit. I would like to port in our data engineering pipeline that I run in a single ScriptRun in AzureML where I generate all potential features prior to training a model and then later filter to a specific feature set for each model. I’m hoping to filter the DAG built in dagster in our deployed model to only run the parts of the pipeline we need to generate the features we used in the model. Can dagster be used in reverse to go from leaf columns in a dataframe back to a set of pipeline sets and inputs required?
n
Not really sure I understand what you are asking
You write the DAG code yourself and then it executes
There isn't like a SAT solvers running under the hood to dynamically build it for you.
(unless you write one I guess)
d
thank you for replying
so I could build a method on my pipeline that would accept the target column list I need in my final dataframe and I can traverse the DAG created by dagster for my pipeline and trim unecessary branches?
n
Why would it have unnecessary branches though?
I don't understand what you are trying to remove 🙂
If you mean you want to share code between a "train all" and "train just X" mode
Then you would probably have two pipelines that use the same solids
(and depending on the complexity of the pipeline itself, possibly a shared base function or similar)
d
there is likely a better way to do this given dagster, but we currently pre-compute all possible features we might need at model training time in our feature engineering pipeline, and then we do many possible permutations of features to determine what is the best model. Whenever I have that best possible feature set and now I am deploying that model to our simulation phase, I don’t want to generate the other 350 features that are not being used in the final model.
n