There is something that's not entirely clear to me...
# announcements
f
There is something that's not entirely clear to me, is there any situation where
dagster-graphql
will run a pipeline directly or does it only communicate that to a
dagit
instance? Also, is it possible to run
dagster
instead of
dagit
to keep a server running or is it only
dagit
that can do it? I find the documentation great, but the architecture isn't completely clear to me by reading it.
p
Hi Fran! dagit is the webapp that serves the UI and responds to graphql requests. It uses the graphql schema defined by the dagster-graphql package to accept and respond to these requests. It in turn uses APIs from the dagster package to service the requests (e.g. query storage, execute runs, etc). We also have the CLI tool
dagster
to execute dagster commands in the current process. Hope this helps!
f
Hi Phil, thank you for your answer. I have never used graphql before so that's maybe why I don't completely understand what exactly
dagster-graphql
really is. A few more questions: • Can I use
dagster-graphql
as a CLI tool to trigger a pipeline in a
dagit
server? • When
dagit
runs a pipeline in a separate process, does it run another
dagit
process or a
dagster
process? Thank you!
p
Great questions… • Both the
dagster
and the
dagster-graphql
CLI tools will allow you to trigger pipeline execution.
dagster
will use the python API to trigger execution, and
dagster-graphql
will take graphql queries to trigger execution. GraphQL is a different API, but wraps the same behavior. They only difference is in the way you interact with them. Both of these are independent of a running dagit instance, which is a web interface. • When you run a
dagster
CLI command, it runs the corresponding execution in the same process. • For pipelines initiated through both the
dagit
UI, as well as the
dagster-graphql
CLI command, the execution will occur in a separate process. • Re: