I am brand new to dagster and thinking of how I ca...
# announcements
m
I am brand new to dagster and thinking of how I can use dagster in my current setting. Basically we are loading a lot of tables from a relational database to another relational database. What I want to do is: Define a solid that accepts databaseconnection and table_name. Input a list of tables to load and make dagster loop that list, inputting table_name in dagster and load in parallell. I have read about Reusable solids in the docs, but have not fully got how configuration can be used. Does anyone have a similar setup?
a
The config system in terms of reusability is useful because it allows you to express a config schema for your solids. This allows consumers of that solid to understand what they need to configure if they were to use your solid in their pipelines. There are a few ways to express your solution. One way which uses the config system could be passing in your creds at config which then get transformed into a dB connection. The rest of your solid would perform the load logic you described.
m
🙏 I guess I should express my list of tables as .alias functions in the pipeline then? That would be the easiest way to run the same function with different settings. My idea of looping a list of inputs is not applicable? I experimented with prefects map-function and was looking for something similar. Thanks for the replay, I’ll give it a go when I have time 😀
a
ya we’re not there yet on a
map
feature - starting to experiment with some approaches
v