Hi all! I'm currently studying Dagster and trying ...
# announcements
a
Hi all! I'm currently studying Dagster and trying to use it for tidying up ML training. I got kind of stuck with the following problem. A complex solid ("train") in a pipeline needs to be run several times with somewhat different input, but the number of these runs is determined by an integer value in a global config (ML folds). I see only three solutions: • generate the pipeline on the fly based on an original config: more code = more bugs, difficult to use tools like Dagit, seems like an abuse of the framework; • iterate over inputs in a single complex solid "train": looks good in Dagit, but limited parallelism; • just generate the pipeline with a fixed number of parallel "train" solids (i.e. a fixed maximum number of runs), then use optional outputs: seems sort of ugly and with artificial constants. How could this problem be solved in Dagster in an idiomatic way?
m
Hi Alex! Can you expand a little bit on how the inputs vary between the different runs of the
train
solid? Is this a question of iterating the same solid on its own input n times, or something else?
a
Basically I run neural network training on multiple subsets of a training dataset. A description of a such dataset is an input for the
train
solid. The number of subsets is given in an initial (human-edited) config. All the other parameters are the same for each run, they are expected to be passed also as inputs to
train
. Visually, it should look like this:
Copy code
generate_training_data_subsets
    /          |         \
 train_1   train_2   train_3
    \           |         /
         collect_metrics
train
might be pretty resource-intensive, therefore it is important to be able to parallelize
train
runs with e.g. dask.
m
gotcha
We are tracking this general class of problem at https://github.com/dagster-io/dagster/issues/462 -- we've been very hesitant to rush to implement something that is likely to be subtly wrong in general.