Hello! A complete dagster newbie here. I was looki...
# ask-community
t
Hello! A complete dagster newbie here. I was looking for some guidance using dynamic partitioning. We have an IoT-type streaming dataset with measurements belonging to different batches. We do not know the batch IDs beforehand. I wanted to set up a pipeline that would consume the incoming data and then save it to parquet using batch IDs as partitions. Initially, I went with DynamicOutput solution where I split the entries by batchID and then materialised the assets inside the op that was mapped onto them. I stored the batchIDs separately when materialising the assets and supplied a function that could return all of them to the dynamic_partitioned_config as they were being added. This felt like a hack though, as obviously I needed to leave the job config empty as all the partitions were materialised in the same job. The second solution was to save the incoming source dataset as a materialised asset and add the batch IDs included in that particular file as metadata. Then in an asset sensor monitoring that asset I retrieved all the batches and submitted a separate RunRequest for each, supplying the batchID via config, so everything should work nicely as each partition would have its own job. However, the result is very similar as when I did it the the hackish way: the partitions are registered for the asset, but Dagit shows them all as missing and submitting a backfill request doesn’t do anything. I assume this is because the function passed to the dynamic_partitioned_config returns all the correct keys, but the asset materialisations do not get registered correctly. Any ideas on how this setup could work, or maybe some better architectural design that would be more in line with Dagster’s way of working? Thanks in advance!
c
just to make sure, are you logging the partition key on the assetmaterialization? If not, that's probably why they aren't showing up in dagit
t