Hi all, I’m having a difficult time to understand ...
# ask-community
r
Hi all, I’m having a difficult time to understand how assets work in an ETL pipeline. The tutorial demonstrates assets, but the data is kept within Dagster. However, in a real life scenario data is often stored in a database. In general, how should an ETL pipeline be defined in Dagster and what are the best practices? Some related questions that arise; 1. What should the asset return? Simply a copy of the loaded data? 2. Should all ETL steps be included in an asset? 3. Can an asset exists out of ops? E.g. one for each step in the ETL pipeline.
x
Hi Remco, I'm new with dagster and I had the same difficulty to understand assets. I can try to explain you that I have understood. (not sure all is right but I do my best). An asset represent which data and how you want to have them. It can pull data from an external source (like from an url) or from others assets output. The asset materialization will create data from the asset. How data are materialized (local file, s3, db) is the io_manager responsability) => the asset work only on data but not on the way it's materialzed. It can be only a copy of a loaded data or modify them (aggregation from several assets, filter...) An asset is a particular op, and it's materialization can be retrieve by it's AssetKey. You can make an ETL pipeline only with assets.
r
Thanks for clarifying Xavier. The dots seem to connect a bit more for me. So for an ETL pipeline one would have an asset for the Extracted data and an asset for the Transformed data. While the IOManager takes care of Loading the Transformed asset in a database and the Extracted asset in a local file?
x
yes