I'm relatively new to Dagster but I'm enjoying the...
# ask-community
s
I'm relatively new to Dagster but I'm enjoying the experience of using it so far. I'm playing with the new
@asset
decorator since it nicely aligns with my use case. How does one add assets (or the ability to materialize them) or jobs built with
AssetGroup.build_job
to a repository? At a slightly higher level, Software Defined Assets are really cool, but it does feel like they aren't quite fully integrated. Should I simply avoid them for the time being?
c
Hi Sean! Today we actually released a major release (0.15.0) that formalizes assets to be fully stable, so I'd recommend you use them whenever you are working with data assets. As of this release, you can directly add assets and asset jobs to repositories:
Copy code
@asset 
def my_asset():
  pass

@repository
def my_repo():
  return [my_asset]
🦜 1
s
I should ask questions more often here if they all result in new major releases that answer them! Thanks, Claire.
c
released it just for you blob grin
d
Hi @claire, sorry to piggy-back on this question, but I'm struggling a bit to upgrade to 0.15.0. Previously, I was using
AssetGroup.build_job()
, but I understand this is now deprecated in favour of
define_asset_job()
. However, I can't execute the job created by
define_asset_job()
directly because it seems to only become defined when attached to a repository? Is there no way to programmatically run jobs anymore without defining a repository of jobs upfront?
Okay, I just answered my own question by actually thinking about it a bit more. There's a
UnresolvedAssetJobDefinition.resolve()
function that I can use directly by just passing the list of assets, so I can bypass having a repository. Including this here in case anyone else runs into this same question!
c
@dpad there's also a build_assets_job function that accepts a list of assets
❤️ 1
d
Thanks a lot!
I'm now wondering why
execute_in_process
defaults to
fs_io_manager
instead of
mem_io_manager