Hey all - Im really new to this and Im a little co...
# ask-community
a
Hey all - Im really new to this and Im a little confused. Trying to implement hooks (specifically msteams) and as I go through the documentation - everything for the hook is referring to @solid & @pipeline. Is this just a matter of the documentation not keeping up to speed of innovation? I believe we're supposed to use ops and jobs now... so just trying to work though it. I appologize for the newbie question and thanks in advance.
j
Hi aaron! probably just some out of date docs. Can you link the pages you're looking at so we can update them? solid and pipeline are deprecated in favor of op and job respectively. You should be able to use op everywhere you see solid and job everywhere you see pipeline
Hey Jamie - sorry to be a pain - but the documenation refers to class
dagster.PipelineFailureSensorContext
where there doesnt appear to be corresponding JobFailureSensorContext. I am trying to figure it out on my own - but having little success. Updated documentation for job failure / msteams notifications sure would be helpful. Thanks!
j
no worries! do you have a code snippet you can share that shows how you're trying to access the sensor context?
a
So I am trying to simply create a notification to Teams on failure on any failure within the job - indicating the op name that failed. I think this aligns with your documentation around '`dagster_msteams.make_teams_on_pipeline_failure_sensor'`
Copy code
teams_on_pipeline_failure = make_teams_on_pipeline_failure_sensor(
    hook_url=os.getenv("TEAMS_WEBHOOK_URL")
)

@repository
def my_repo():
    return [my_pipeline + teams_on_pipeline_failure]
def my_message_fn(context: PipelineFailureSensorContext) -> str:
    return "Pipeline {pipeline_name} failed! Error: {error}".format(
        pipeline_name=context.pipeline_run.pipeline_name,
        error=context.failure_event.message,
    )

teams_on_pipeline_failure = make_teams_on_pipeline_failure_sensor(