```dagster.core.errors.DagsterInvalidDefinitionErr...
# ask-community
a
Copy code
dagster.core.errors.DagsterInvalidDefinitionError: In @pipeline pipe_2, received invalid type <class 'str'> for input "name" (at position 1) in solid invocation "hello2". Must pass the output from previous solid invocations or inputs to the composition function as inputs when invoking solids during composition.
d
I'm still learning, but from what I understand, you can't just use normal strings and values within a
@pipeline
function. The functions and variables within a
@pipeline
function describe a dag they're not "real" functions. So any variables need to be passed through the solids. One pattern to achieve what you're doing would be to use what I've seen around as "factories" eg
Copy code
@solid(
    output_defs=[OutputDefinition(int)]
)
def hello():
    yield Output(1)

def hello2_factory(name: str, age: int):
    @solid(
        input_defs=[
            InputDefinition("name", str),
            InputDefinition("age", int),
        ]
    )
    def hello2(hello: int):
        print(f"Hello {name}, {age+hello}")
    return hello2

@pipeline
def pipe_2():

hello2 = hello2_factory("Marcus", 20)

x = hello()
    y = hello2(x)
d
Also having the same error as Alejandro! Is this factories method the only way to solve this?
Very new to dagster here. I've been trying to read a row of params from google sheet, using that to query company's database, then send some metrics back to write in the same sheet but different cell.
Copy code
@solid(
    description="Read from google sheet for data pipeline.",
    output_defs=[
        OutputDefinition(name="row_data"),
        OutputDefinition(name="gspread_object")
        ]
    )
def read_from_gsheet() -> List:
    print("Instantiate gspread sheet object and read a row..."
    row = sheet.row_values(2)
    yield Output(row, output_name="row_data")
    yield Output(sheet, output_name="gspread_object")

@solid(description="Write to cells in Gsheet")