Deploying Dagster with Helm Hi all, I’ve been pla...
# random
m
Deploying Dagster with Helm Hi all, I’ve been playing with Dagit locally and I’m beginning to feel productive with it. When it comes time to deploy my code I want to be sure it can handle the work given to it. I talked with a coworker about the best way to do this and he recommended K8s instead of ECS because it’s easier to stick with one or the other and K8s might end up being easier to provision+scale. I’ve never used Kubernetes before but I understand the complexity it comes with. We’re a small team here, it would only really be myself hacking away at EKS. What would you all recommend for me to watch/read/code to help understand Kube+AWS? I’m pretty good with infra in general now and I can get by with ECS, but I want to dig deeper. I want to know all I need to know before diving into this: https://docs.dagster.io/deployment/guides/kubernetes/deploying-with-helm
s
I like Kubernetes quite a bit, although I'm not sure it would be any easier. Have you looked into doing Dagster Cloud serverless for a bit? Going to brain dump what I recommend: 1. the hardest part IMO is standing up the infra (including networking) If you can get someone in infra to stand up the cluster for you that will simplify your life. 2. For permissions, the pods that are spun by the Dagster agent need access to container registry, S3 resourcse, etc. The way we do this is that we have an AWS IRSA role that we can add permissions to. A Kuberentes service account can then assume this role, and we just add permissions to the role when we need a new bucket, etc. 3. For Helm, I just have the
helm-prod-values.yml
files and
helm-stage-values.yml