Hi everyone, I’m new to dagster and I just joined ...
# ask-community
b
Hi everyone, I’m new to dagster and I just joined to ask this question, since I’ve spent a while searching through the documentation and couldn’t find a clear answer. I have an hourly partitioned asset like so:
Copy code
@asset(partitions_def=HourlyPartitionsDefinition(start_date="2022-01-01-00:00"))
def blog_posts(context) -> List[Dict]:
    partition_datetime_str = context.asset_partition_key_for_output()
    hour = datetime.fromisoformat(partition_datetime_str)
    posts = fetch_blog_posts_from_external_api(hour_when_posted=hour)
    return posts
I can use the above asset as input to other assets - that’s all nice and fine. But what I would also like to be able to do is to run a job each time a new partition of
blog_posts
has been materialized in order to publish the data to yet another external API. I assumed I would be able to do this fairly easily using an asset sensor, like so:
Copy code
@asset_sensor(asset_key=AssetKey("blog_posts"), job=my_job)
def new_materialized_blog_posts_sensor(context, asset_event):
    yield RunRequest(
        run_key=context.cursor,
        run_config={
            "ops": {
                "my_op": {
                    "config": {
                        "asset_key_path": asset_event.dagster_event.asset_key.path,
                        "partition_key": asset_event.dagster_event.partition,
                    }
                }
            }
        },
    )
This triggers
my_job
and that job executes
my_op
which receives the asset_key and partition. So it seems like I’m just a step away. But the problem I have is: how do I access the underlying data? Do I need to work directly with the
IOManager
class to load the input? If so, how do initialise the correct IO manager based on what has been configured for the asset storage? Once I have the IO manager, I should be able to access the data using the approach for testing:
Copy code