Hi all! I'm rather new to dagster and am trying t...
# ask-community
n
Hi all! I'm rather new to dagster and am trying to get an asset to use a custom BigQuery I/O manager. I got the I/O manager to work with my creds by forking the quickstart repo for GCP. My company uses a repository instead of the definitions that the quickstart repo uses. The simple asset I'm trying to run is simply:
Copy code
from dagster import asset
import pandas as pd

@asset(
    group_name="new_group",
    required_resource_keys={"bq_io_manager"}
)
def totango_accounts() -> pd.DataFrame:
    data = {
        'name': ['name', 'name_2'],
        'number': ['+123', '+456']
    }

return pd.DataFrame(data)
And repository.py looks like:
Copy code
resource_defs = {
        "io_manager": s3_pickle_io_manager.configured(
            {"s3_bucket": "<bucket>", "s3_prefix": s3_prefix}
        ),
        "s3": s3_resource,
        "bq_io_manager": bigquery_pandas_io_manager.configured(
            {
                "credentials": {"env": "BIGQUERY_JSON_PATH"},
                "project_id": {"env": "BIGQUERY_PROJECT_ID"},
                "dataset_id": '<dataset_name>'
            }
        )
    }

repository_assets = load_assets_from_modules(
        modules=[
            some_s3_assets,
            dagster_quickstart_assets,
            my_new_assets  #assets from the script above
        ]) \
        + dbt_assets

return [
        *with_resources(
            definitions=repository_assets, resource_defs=resource_defs
        ),
        define_asset_job(name="all_assets_job"),
    ]
Even though I pass the I/O manager that I copied from the quickstart repo to the relevant asset it somehow uses the
s3
resource instead. It successfully runs but I'm at a loss for why it uses a completely different resource than the one I explicitly give the asset. Does anyone have an idea what might be occuring?
🤖 1
🙃 Forgot to use
io_manager_key
instead of
required_resource_keys