I am new to Dagster and getting started on this am...
# ask-community
r
I am new to Dagster and getting started on this amazing project. I am using
with Conda and Windows to run locally. The Conda is set up correctly. I am trying to run the
hello_dagster.py
from the Dagster docs, but no luck thus far. When I try this -
dagster dev --code-server-log-level DEBUG -p 6050 -f hello_dagster.py
- Dagster starts & shutsdown immediately. However, when I try this -
dagster dev --code-server-log-level trace -p 6050 -f hello_dagster.py
- the Dasgster at least comes up! But the code does not execute with an error on the GRPC-Server. It is rather strange that
DEBUG
&
trace
in the command can make so much difference... Any tips or pointers would be really helpful. Thanks again.
Copy code
DEBUG
===
(dagster_demo) C:\some\path>dagster dev --code-server-log-level DEBUG -p 6050 -f hello_dagster.py
2023-05-07 22:08:24 +0800 - dagster - INFO - Launching Dagster services...
2023-05-07 22:08:38 +0800 - dagster - INFO - Started Dagster code server for file hello_dagster.py on port 52818 in process 12132
2023-05-07 22:08:38 +0800 - dagster - INFO - Started Dagster code server for file hello_dagster.py on port 52820 in process 980
2023-05-07 22:08:44 +0800 - dagster - INFO - Shutting down Dagster services...
2023-05-07 22:08:44 +0800 - dagster - INFO - Dagster services shut down.

trace
===
Exception: gRPC server exited with return code 1 while starting up with the command: 
<stack trace>
lib\site-packages\dagster\_core\host_representation\grpc_server_registry.py", line 194, in _get_grpc_endpoint
    server_process = GrpcServerProcess(...
🤖 1
I tried to run the
grpc Code Server
separately and then tired to connect the Dasgter - but when I do that both the
Code Server
and
Dagster
exit now -
Copy code
GRPC Code Server
===
dagster api grpc --python-file hello_dagster.py --host 0.0.0.0 --port 7001

Dagster Services
===
dagster dev --code-server-log-level trace -w workspace.yaml