Hi, I am new to dagster and am struggling to get m...
# ask-community
j
Hi, I am new to dagster and am struggling to get my head around it as it makes some different choices to airflow and azkaban which I am more used to. What I am trying to implement is a three step job that does the following: • Pulls a git repo into a tmp folder with a generated random id for a name eg.. tmp/{uuid}/.... • Then runs dbt or a a different shell command that references that folder • Deletes the tmp folder The issue I am running into is how I can generate a random uuid and then use that in the resource def for dbt and the two ops that pulls down the repo and deletes the folder. Anything that could point me in the right direction would be appreciated
🤖 1
t
My first thought: you could define an op for generating the uuid and pass it as output to the next steps
j
Is there a way to generate the dbt_cli_resource resource def using the output of an upstream op?
t
Ah got it, I thought you want to run dbt using shell command op. You can still pre-generate the UUID globally and use it for both dbt resource def and the git pull op (as input for example). Just to make sure that there is an execution order between the git pull op (so the models directory is there) and the dbt step.
j
Ok that is what I want to do I am just not sure the syntax for define a global variable in the job and have that pass through to the resource def and
create_shell_command_op
can you please point me to the documentation that explains how that works?
j
hey @Jacob Roe i think Tung Dang's suggestion is reasonable. I think they are saying that you can set a plain python global variable that both the op and the resource can have access to
Copy code
TEMP_DIR = f"/path/to/tmp/{uuid()}"

@op 
def fetch_code():
    # make the directory using TEMP_DIR
    # get the code from git

@op(
   require_resources={"dbt_cli_resource"}
)
def do_dbt(context):
     # whatever you want to do with dbt 

@job(