I am curious the best way to exclude some Dagster/...
# deployment-kubernetes
d
I am curious the best way to exclude some Dagster/Airbyte stream configs from the application build and instead provide it as a ConfigMap. I am not experienced in using ConfigMaps or Volumes, but curious what the best method (and allowable using Helm deployment) to reference configuration yamls within the application code.
d
Hi dusty - I think you would use a volume for this: https://kubernetes.io/docs/concepts/storage/volumes/#configmap
https://docs.dagster.io/deployment/guides/kubernetes/deploying-with-helm#step-61-configure-the-deployment has an example of configuring a volume and volume mount in your code (you typically need to specify both, its a bit finnicky)
looking it over now that example yaml is a bit weird - typically the volume mount would have the same name as the volume
our example is weird that is, the k8s example is fine
d
👍 sounds good I’ll have a look.
So it just makes that volume data accessible in the user deployment mode in the
/etc/config/
dir?
d
yeah it'd be available in any pod that dagster spins up for that code
runs too
d
👍 Sounds great, will get into it. Looks to be the perfect solution for the Airbyte stream configurations.
Another question specific to Volumes/Configmaps…does the configMap name value under
volumes
correspond to an external ConfigMap I’ve already created on my infra?
or will that create a configMap for me with that value
d
the former
d
Got it -thanks. Got it up and wired up, now I’m just brainstorming on best way to push changes to the volume (I assume just a redploy?)
a