Hi, I’m new to orchestration tools like Dagster an...
# ask-community
c
Hi, I’m new to orchestration tools like Dagster and I’m trying to replicate one of our Fivetran Custom Connector data pipelines as a proof of concept. I have managed to get the data I want from the API and have it in a python dict. I then use json.dumps on the dict and output it in my asset. I have assigned the gcs_pickle_io_manager to the asset and it is loading the file successfully into my GCS bucket. The issue is then when I try to load it into Snowflake. It has a weird character at the beginning and end of the JSON string which is causing it to fail. Depending on which text editor I open it with it changes, but I think it is b-, which indicates that it is a byte string? How do I create the JSON file in the GCS bucket without the characters in the front? There seems to be limited documentation on the IO manager, so not sure if there are options there to change? Thanks!
r
gcs_pickle_io_manager will create python pickle files not json
I'm guessing this is happening:
Copy code
>>> d = {'a': 1, 'b':2}
>>> j = json.dumps(d)
>>> pickle.dumps(j)
b'\x80\x04\x95\x14\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x8c\x10{"a": 1, "b": 2}\x94.'
c
So does this mean we would need to develop our own IO managers for this?
Yes, I think those are the characters it is adding to the start and end
r
how are you loading the resulting file into snowflake?
out of dagster?
c